Connect with us

Nigeria News

Full List: Major Shake Up As Nigerian Air Force Redeploys Top Officers, Commanders




Full List: Major Shake Up As Nigerian Air Force Redeploys Top Officers, Commanders

The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) has approved the appointment and redeployment of some top commanders, new Branch Chiefs, Air Officers Commanding (AOCs) and other senior officers.

Naija News reports that the NAF Director of Public Relations and Information, Air Commodore Edward Gabkwet, made this known in a statement on Thursday.

Gabkwet stated that the Chief of the Air Staff (CAS), Air Marshal Oladayo Amao, gave the approval for the immediate appointment and redeployment of the senior officers.

He said that all the newly appointed and redeployed senior officers are expected to assume their new offices on or before Friday, 5 August 2022.

Among the newly appointed Branch Chiefs are Air Vice Marshal (AVM) Jackson Yusuf, formerly Chief of Training and Operations (CTOP) who is now the Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP) Headquarters NAF (HQ NAF), Abuja, AVM Oluwafemi Ogunmola.

Former Director of Intelligence Surveillance and Reconnaissance has now been appointed as the new Chief of Communications Information Systems (CCIS), HQ NAF, while the former Chief of Standards and Evaluation (COSE), AVM Aliyu Bello, is now redeployed as the CTOP, HQ NAF, Abuja, while AVM Nkem Aguiyi takes over as the Chief of Air Intelligence (CAI) and AVM Hassan Abubakar, former AOC Logistics Command is now the Chief of Standards and Evaluation.

Also appointed are the erstwhile COPP, AVM Charles Ohwo who is now the Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation, Defence Headquarters (DHQ), Abuja, and AVM Abubakar Liman, former CAI is now the Director of Space Utilization, DHQ, AVM Hycinth Eze.

Former Group Managing Director (GMD) NAF Holding Company takes over as Director of Production, DHQ, AVM Musa Muktar takes over as the GMD NAF Holding Company while AVM Raimi Salami, the erstwhile CCIS is now the Director of Strategy, DHQ.

The newly appointed AOCs are AVM Precious Amadi, AOC Tactical Air Command (TAC), Makurdi, AVM Abubakar Abdulkadir, AOC Special Operations Command (SOC), Bauchi, AVM Nnamdi Ananaba, AOC Air Training Command (ATC), Kaduna while AVM Emmanuel Shobande takes over as AOC Logistics Command (LC), Lagos,” the statement added.

The Chief of Air Staff reminded them of the need to continually seek effective and efficient means of deploying the resources at their disposals in line with the reviewed NAF counterterrorism and counterinsurgency strategy.

Story continues below advertisement

Get New DJ Mixes

Amao also charged them to be proactive and synergise with sister services towards eliminating the threats particularly posed by terrorists in the country.