Connect with us


Nigeria News

2023 Elections: INEC Extends Continous Voter Registration



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the extension of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR).

Naija News reports that INEC had earlier fixed June 30, 2022, as the deadline for the ongoing CVR ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Speaking on Saturday during the Youth Vote Count concert at the Old Parade Ground, Abuja, INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu said the exercise will continue until the citizens continue to register to obtain their PVC.

He stated that said the commission has deployed more machines for voter registration, adding that INEC will not stop the exercise until it is satisfied that Nigerians who want to register have done so.

He said: “The second thing is you want to know when will this registration end. Is it going to end on the 30th of June… in the next five days? On behalf of INEC, let me assure you, e no go end for 30th June. As long as we have you people trying to register to obtain your PVC, we will continue to register you and we will continue to make sure that you get your PVC.

“Listen to me in this place, this is the Old Parade Ground in Abuja. In the last five days from Monday to Friday — and we are still registering today — we registered over 14, 000 Nigerians in this place alone. Here, in this place, we have fifty voter machines. Two weeks ago, we deployed more machines to the states.

“More machines left yesterday and more machines today all over the country. By Monday, there will be more machines to register more Nigerians. We will not stop the registration until we are satisfied that those who wish to register are given the opportunity to do so.”

Recall that a Federal High Court in Abuja stopped INEC from ending the exercise following a suit filed by Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) and 185 Nigerians.

Also, the House of Representatives urged the electoral body to extend voter registration because many Nigerians are trying to participate in the 2023 elections.