Connect with us


Full List: APC Lawmakers That Have Defected To PDP, NNPP, Others




Full List: APC Lawmakers That Have Defected To PDP, NNPP, Others

The gale of defections of high-profile federal lawmakers has hit the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) following the recently-concluded primary elections conducted in different parts of the country.

Naija News reports that 13 APC senators and some House of Representatives members have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and others.

The lawmakers elected on the platform of the ruling party defected to the opposition parties after losing their return tickets to the National Assembly during the party primaries.

It was learned that no fewer than 20 APC senators have concluded plans to defect to PDP and other opposition parties within the next week, with many of them alleging that their state governors hijacked the senatorial primary elections.

Following the development, the APC National Chairman, Abdullahi Adamu, met with the APC senators behind closed doors at the National Assembly complex in Abuja on Wednesday to stopp the defections.

Below are the names of APC lawmakers and the parties they have joined.

Senator Dauda Jika (Bauchi Central) – NNPP

Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North) – PDP

Senator Adamu Aliero (Kebbi Central) – PDP

Senator Ahmad Babba-Kaita (Katsina North) – PDP

Senator Francis Alimikhena (Edo North) – PDP

Senator Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi South) – NNPP

Senator Ibrahim Shekarau (Kano Central) – NNPP

Hon. Alhassan Rurum (Rano/Bunkure/Kibiya Federal, Constituency) – NNPP

Hon. Shamsudden Dambazau (Takai/Sumaila Federal Constituency) – NNPP

Get New DJ Mixes

Hon. Shina Peller (Iseyin/Itesiwaju/Kajola/Iwajowa Federal Constituency) – Accord Party