Connect with us



Senate Names New Minority Leader, Minority Whip



Senate Confirms Buhari’s Ministerial Nominees

The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday named Senator Philip Tenimu Aduda representing the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) as the new Minority Leader.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan made the announcement while reading two separate letters signed by the National Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Samuel Anyanwu.

Lawan also announced Senator Chukwuka Utazi representing Enugu North Senatorial District as the Senate Minority Whip.

The seat of the Minority Leader became vacant following the defection of Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia South) from the PDP to the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Meanwhile, Edo State politician, Prince Kassim Afegbua has renounced his membership in the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Naija News understands that Afegbua was a former campaign spokesman for Nigeria’s former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar.

Afegbua however has fallen out with the 2023 Presidential candidate of the opposition party.

Announcing his resignation from PDP in a letter addressed to the PDP Chairman, Ward 5 Okpella, Edo State, Afegbua said his decision to withdraw from the party was part of his protest that power should be shifted to the Southern part of Nigeria come 2023.

He said in the letter dated, June 20, 2022, that his decision was in line with the provisions of Article 7 of the party’s constitution.