Connect with us


Full List: Prominent PDP Governorship Aspirants Who Withdrew From 2023 Race




2023 Elections: All PDP Governorship Aspirants Who Withdrew From Race [Full List]

The governorship primaries of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) took place on Wednesday in most parts of the country.

Naija News reports that the PDP primary gubernatorial elections were conducted in line with the schedule of activities/timetable released last month.

The primaries also took place a few days before the party’s Special Congress to elect its presidential candidate for the 2023 general elections.

While some of the aspirants were declared the winner of the exercise, others withdrew from the governorship race for some reasons.

See below a list of states and governorship aspirants who withdraw from the race

Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia)

The Senate Minority Leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, withdrew from the Abia State governorship primary of the party held on Wednesday.

The former Abia Deputy Governor while stating his reason for withdrawal cited the use of an “imaginary delegates list and lack of transparency”.

Abaribe further stated that there was no three-man delegate selection held by the PDP in the state, adding that the list was created by those who want to impose their candidate on the party.

The lawmaker further in a statement he signed that his next political move would soon be made public.

Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu)

The former Deputy Senate President, Senator Ike Ekweremadu, on Wednesday, withdrew from the race to occupy the Enugu State Government House.

Eweremadu withdrew his participation from the governorship primary in a statement by his Campaign Organisation issued on Wednesday.

This comes a day after the former governor of Old Anambra State, Senator Jim Nwobodo, announced that Dr Peter Mbah has been adopted as the next governor of Enugu State.

According to the statement, the organisation asked the supporters of the lawmaker not to expect him at the governorship primary of the party scheduled for today (Wednesday).

Onofiok Luke (Akwa Ibom)

A member of the House of Representatives, Onofiok Luke, had announced that he would not participate in the Akwa Ibom governorship primaries.

The former Speaker of the Akwa Ibom Assembly said he decided to drop out of the race as a result of the issues raised on the amendment of the Electoral Act in relation to statutory delegates.

Bassey Albert (Akwa Ibom)

A member of the Senate, Bassey Albert, withdrew from the Akwa Ibom governorship race, a few hours before the start of the exercise.

He attributed his decision to withdraw from the race in obedience to a court injunction relating to the ward congresses which produced the ad hoc delegates for the primary.

Olorogun Gbagi (Delta)

A former Minister of Education, Olorogun Gbagi, had announced that he would not participate in the governorship primaries in Delta State.

Gbagi, who was also cleared by the party to contest, refused to disclose his reason for his withdrawal from the race.

Labaran Maku (Nasarawa)

A former Minister of Information, Labaran Maku, withdrew from contesting the Nasarawa State governorship race.

The former deputy governor announced his withdrawal from the race shortly after the commencement of the PDP primary elections in the state on Wednesday.

While speaking about his withdrawal from the race, Maku noted that after wider consultations with friends, political associates and some family members he decided to withdraw his ambition to contest the primary election.

Get New DJ Mixes

Maku, however, refused to speak further when asked whether there were other reasons for his withdrawal. He only said the reason was best known to him, noting that his official statement of his withdrawal will be made available soon.