Connect with us

Nigeria News

PDP Primaries: List of Governors, Deputy Govs Who Have Won Senate Tickets



PDP Reacts As 20 APC Senators Plan To Dump Party

The People’s Democratic Party PDP has began its primaries to elect candidates that will be the flag bearers for PDP in the 2023 elections.

Some governors and deputy governors who have completed their second term are vying for Senatorial tickets to contest the elections in 2023.

Below are the governor’s and deputy governors who have successfully obtained the PDP senate tickets.

Darius Ishaku, Governor of Taraba State: Ishaku has secured the PDP ticket to contest the Taraba South Senatorial District election. He will become part of the league of governors who moved into the National Assembly after spending two terms in power if he wins the 2023 elections.

Samuel Ortom, Governor of Benue state: Ortom won the PDP ticket to contest for a seat in the senate.

He will be PDP’s flag bearer in the Benue north-west senatorial district election in 2023.

According to Daily Trust, Ortom clinched the party’s senatorial ticket unchallenged.

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Governor of Enugu State: Ugwuanyi won the ticket for Enugu North senatorial district.

Ugwuanyi was declared the winner of the primary election held on Tuesday, May 24, at the Nsukka Stadium in Nsukka local government area of the state.

Announcing the results, the returning officer, Yandev Ammabai, said Ugwuanyi polled 299 votes to defeat his closest rival, Eze Godwin, who scored 16 votes while Godsmack Ugwu and Okanye Celestine recorded zero.

Okezie Ikpeazu, Governor of Abia state: Okezie Ikpeazu, the Abia state governor was the sole aspirant for Abia South. He polled 198 votes.

Harry Banigo, Deputy Governor of Rivers State: Dr Mrs Ipalibo Harry Banigo ran unopposed for the Rivers West Senatorial Primaries election.

Senator George Thompson Sekibo who is presently representing the district in the Senate, did not contest the primaries.

Haruna Manu, Deputy Governor of Taraba: Engr Haruna Manu, the deputy governor of Taraba won the PDP’s ticket for the Taraba Central zone.

The deputy governor, speaking after his victory, vowed not to let the people of his senatorial district down if finally given the mandate come 2023.

Editor’s note: The list will be updated as Naija News obtains more confirmation on politicians in this category that have secured their party’s ticket.