Connect with us


Nigeria News

IPOB: Soludo Declares Curfew In Seven LGAs In Anambra [Full List]


Governor Charles Chukwuma Soludo of Anambra State on Wednesday evening declared a curfew in seven Local Government Areas of the State.

Naija News reports that the seven Local Government includes Aguata, Ihiala, Ekwusigo, Nnewi North, Nnewi South, Orumba North and Orumba South.

The governor made the declaration in a statewide broadcast on Wednesday.

The curfew which takes effect from Friday will be in force until normalcy returns to the affected areas.

“With effect from tomorrow, Friday, 26th May, 2022, a 6pm to 6am curfew is hereby placed on motorcycles (okada), tricycles (keke), and shuttle buses in Aguata, Ihiala, Ekwusigo, Nnewi North, Nnewi South, Ogbaru, Orumba North and Orumba South Local Governments until further notice.

“Also, motorcycles, keke and shuttle buses are banned from operating in these local governments on Mondays until the Sit-at-Home completely stops,” he said.

Naija News reports that Soludo declared the curfew following an increase in killings and attacks on government properties by unknown gunmen who many believe to be members of the outlawed Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB).