Connect with us


2023: More Billions In APC Purse As 241 Senate Aspirants, 821 HoR Pick Forms



2023: APC Confident Of Winning Taraba Guber - State Party Chairman
APC Flags, Logo

The ruling All Progressive Congress, APC, has gulped billions of Naira ahead of the party’s primary elections.

This is as individuals vying for various positions in the 2023 general elections dolled out millions of Naira to purchase the party’s expression of interest and nomination forms, Naija News reports.

APC had announced next Tuesday as deadline for purchased of the forms while it prepare for primaries.

In this regard, no fewer than 95 governorship aspirants paid and obtained the expression of interest and nomination forms before dusk on Thursday.

APC had received earlier payment of about N1.630bn from 17 presidential aspirants, including one female presidential aspirant, who have picked their forms.

Naija News understands that while the male aspirants are mandated to pay N100 million each, the female aspirant are directed to pay only N30 million.

To further enriched the party’s purse, the party has received payment from 241 individuals aspiring for Senatorial seats.

Also, 821 aspirants so far have purchased the expression of interest and nomination forms for House of Representatives.

To cap it all on Thursday, a total of 1,505 aspirants vying for the party’s tickets in the 36 States House of Assembly have also paid and picked their forms.

APC National Organising Secretary, Sulaiman Arugugu revealed this to newsmen in a statement yesterday.

Naija News reports that as of Thursday, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the youngest presidential aspirant Nicholas Bello, Ekiti State governor, Dr. John Kayode Fayemi, Minister of Transportation, Hon. Rotimi Amaechi, former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani, Minister of Labour and productivity, Chris Ngige and Jigawa State governor, Abubakar Badaru have picked forms.

Others are Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, Ebonyi State governor, Dave Umahi, former Imo State governor, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Minister of State, Education, Hon. Chukwuemeka Nwajuiba, former Governor of Lagos State, Senator Bola Tinubu and Uju Kennedy, the only female aspirant.

Meanwhile, the ruling party had on Wednesday announced the extension for the sale of forms to allow new entrants into the race.