Connect with us


Nigeria News

Despite Initially Denying, Sanwo-Olu Appoints AIG Odumosu, MC Oluomo Heads Of Lagos Park Management Committee


2023 Election: I Will Give Sanwo-Olu 3m Votes - MC Olumo

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has appointed former Assistant Inspector General of Police, Hakeem Odumosu, and ex-chairman of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Musiliu Akinsanya popularly called MC Oluomo, as the head of its Parks Management Committee.

Recall that in March, MC Oluomo’s son had taken to social media to congratulate his father on his appointment hours after his suspension by the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW).

He wrote; “Congratulations boss, Alh. King Musillu Akinsanya Ayinde The GM/MD Lagos state Transportation, Parks and Garages Management Committee.. Oye Amori OOOO

Reacting, the Lagos State government had denied giving Akinsanya any appointment.

Sanwo-Olu’s Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile had told Naija News that the news was false and should be discarded.

Akosile said; “MC Oluomo’s son doesn’t work for the government and so can’t be quoted as speaking for us on the matter. There’s no such thing as that”

But in a statement on Thursday morning, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso announced the appointment of MC Oluomo and Odumosu.

According to the Lagos State government, the appointment was to avoid any vacuum in the management of commercial vehicle operations in the state.

The statement revealed that MC Oluomo would serve as the chairman of the committee, while Odumosu serves as the Liaison Officer between the government and the committee.

Sulyman Ojora would serve as the Deputy Chairman and ex-Permanent Secretary, Dr. Taiwo Salaam, who would act as the secretary of the management committee.

Other members of the committee were: Olayiwola Lemboye, Mustapha Adekunle popularly called Tafa Sego, a former member of the NURTW, Ganiyu Shittu, Mukaila Runsewe, Sulyman Yusuf,  Mufutau Mutiu, Yinka Hassan,  Sunday Ogunleye, Moshood Omojowa, Ismaila Aigoro, Ibrahim Yusuf, Akeem Tijani and a woman, Omolabake Adelakun.

Also appointed are Kazeem Hassan, Wasiu Amole,  Ganiyu Ayinde, Anthony Adeboye,  John Owolabi, Saburi Salami, Ibrahim Onitiju, and Odusanya Gbenga.

Omotoso said: “This is in fulfillment of the Government’s promise to ensure that events in the NURTW are not allowed to threaten law and order in the state.

“The Government has, therefore, exercised its constitutional powers to ensure that no vacuum, which can disrupt the peace of our dear state, is allowed to exist in the parks. This is a duty we owe all Lagosians.”

He disclosed that Sanwo-Olu would inaugurate all members of the committee at the Ministry of Transportation, Alausa Secretariat, Ikeja.