Connect with us


Violence Breaks Out At APC National Convention Venue As Police Fire Tear Gas




2023: APC List Of Presidential Aspirants For Screening Revealed (Full List)

Security agents had to be on their toes in keeping the crowd trying to gain entrance into the venue of the All Progressives Congress (APC) National Convention under control.

This is as some delegates and touts were seen trying to force their way into the Eagle Square Abuja venue of the APC convention with security agents struggling to contain the situation.

The development led to the Police having to fire tear gas and tasers to bring the situation which was fast degenerating into a stampede under control.

In fact, at the entrance through the Office of the Head of Service, the crowd overpowered the policemen on guard, pushed open the gate and many people poured into the venue.

The Police later recovered from the incident and regained control of the gate for normal accreditation to continue.

The event is expected to kick off by 3.30 pm.

Watch some of the videos making the rounds on social media.

Meanwhile, all chairmanship aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have stepped down from the race and declared support for a consensus candidate.

Naija News reports that the six aspirants have decided to back their co-aspirant, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, as the consensus candidate.

Adamu is President Muhammadu Buhari’s preferred candidate to replace Comrade Adams Oshiomole who was sacked in 2020.

The decision to step down was made known in a letter dated February 25, 2022 and addressed to the Chairman, APC Election Sub-Committee read and signed by Akume.

According to the letter, the six aspirants that stepped down are: Senator Tanko Al-Makura, Senator George Akume, Abdulaziz Yari, Etsu Muhammed, Sani Musa, and Salihu Mustapha.

close button