Connect with us



Osun 2022: Three Top Contenders For The APC Guber Ticket


Osun 2022: Three Top Contenders For The APC Guber Ticket

The All Progressives Congress (APC) will today, 19th February 2022, conduct the primary election to decide its flagbearer for the July 16 governorship poll in Osun State.

There have been various intrigues and dramas ahead of the primary election billed to take place at the APC State Secretariat in Osun.

Going into the election, the APC currently has two factions in Osun- each with its own candidate.

The Ilerioluwa Group faction is loyal to Governor Gboyega Oyetola while the other faction is The Osun Progressives (TOP) loyal to the Minister of Interior and former Governor of the State, Rauf Aregbesola.

Based on recent political happenings, Naija News has identified three top contenders in the race for the APC guber ticket.

1. Gboyega Oyetola

Gboyega Oyetola

Gboyega Oyetola is the incumbent Governor of Osun State. He was elected in the September 22, 2018, gubernatorial polls and is hoping to secure the APC ticket for a second term in office.

Born 29 September 1954 (67 years), Oyetola is from Iragbiji.

Before becoming Governor, he was the Chief of Staff to Rauf Aregbesola during his tenure as the Osun State Governor. Both of them are however currently at loggerheads and in a battle for supremacy in the state.

2. Lasun Yusuf

Lasun Yusuf

Lasun Yusuf is another top contender for the 2022 APC governorship ticket in Osun State. He is a member of the House of Representatives and was once the Deputy Speaker of the House.

Born October 4, 1960, Yusuf is from Ilobu.

3. Moshood Adeoti

Moshood Adeoti

Moshood Adeoti is a former Secretary to the Osun State Government. He is in the race as the candidate of the Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola who has openly withdrawn support for Governor Oyetola.

Adeoti is from Iwo and was born on 27th February 1953.

Meanwhile, as earlier reported by this online platform, there is a heavy security presence at the Osun APC Secretariat and across the state capital, Osogbo as voting in the primary election is expected to commence immediately after the last person on the line is accredited.