Connect with us


Biodun Oyebanji Wins Ekiti APC Primary Election With Over 100,000 Votes



Mr Biodun Oyebanji has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti state.

Naija News reports that APC conducted its primary elections in the state today to produce a flag bearer ahead of the June governorship election in the state.

Oyebanji polled 101,703 votes, while his closest challengers; Ojo Kayode had 767, Opeyemi Bamidele had 760 and Dayo Adeyeye polled 691 votes.

The results of the primary election from all the 16 LGAs in Ekiti state were announced by Governor Mohammed Badaru, chairman of the election committee, who declared Biodun Oyebanji as the winner.

Having defeated other challengers to emerge winner of the primary election, the former secretary to the state government (SSG), will be the APC’s flag bearer in the June 18 governorship election to be conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Naija News understands that Oyebanji has served in at least three governments since Ekiti was created in 1996 by the late Sani Abacha.

Oyebanji served as the special adviser on parliamentary affairs in the administration of Niyi Adebayo, a former governor of Ekiti.

He was chief of staff to Kayode Fayemi, the incumbent governor, in his first term.