Connect with us


NFF Drops Osimhen, Dennis For AFCON




Breaking: NFF Drops Osimhen, Dennis For AFCON

Napoli striker, Victor Osimhen and Watford forward, Emmanuel Dennis, have been dropped by the Nigeria Football Federation from the 28-man list for the Africa Cup of Nations starting in Cameroon next weekend.

NFF in a statement released on Friday disclosed that Osimhen was removed from the list after he tested positive to COVID-19 a few days ago.

The removal of Osimhen from the list has now given a chance for Henry Onyekuru who was part of the team at the last AFCON in Egypt.

Watford striker, Dennis has been excused to provide room for the Czech Republic-based forward Peter Olayinka, while Abdullahi Shehu has been removed as a result of an injury he is nursing at present.

See the Super Eagles squad for 33rd AFCON In Cameroon below:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Get New DJ Mixes

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)