Connect with us

Nigeria News

President Buhari Appoints New Minister



BREAKING: President Buhari Appoints New Minister

President Muhammdu Buhari has appointed Muazu Jaji Sambo as a new minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Naija News reports that Sambo is to replace the former Minister of Power, Sale Mamman, who was sacked by the President in September.

In a letter to the National Assembly, President asked the Senate to screen and confirm the minister-designate from Taraba State.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan read Buhari’s letter on the floor of the Red Chamber during plenary on Tuesday.

In another letter, Buhari also nominated six National Commissioners and one Resident Electoral Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The new nominees as INEC National Commissioners include Malam Mohammed Haruna (Niger State) North Central; Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu – Delta State; Okeagu Kenneth Nnamdi – Abia State, South-East; Maj. Gen. A.B. Alkali (retd.) – Adamawa State, North East; Engr. Prof. Rada H. Gumus – Bayelsa State, South-South, and Mr Sam Olumeku – Ondo State, South West.

Mr Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye from Ondo State, (South West) was named Resident Electoral Commissioner.

Those nominated as Commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC), include Engr Benedict Opong – Akwa Ibom State; Mrs Gloria Izofor Mni – Bayelsa state, Barr. Mrs Patricia O. Iyayan Kuchi – Benue State, Dr. Bala Haliru, Kebbi State and Dr Iyatayo Oyetunbi, Oyo State.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android