Connect with us


Ballon d’Or 2021: See Full List Of Nominees As Odds Favour Lewandowski, Messi


2021 Ballon d'Or Nominees

The long wait is over as world football lovers will today be informed of the new Ballon d’Or winner.

Naija News reports that the 2021 Ballon d’Or award ceremony will be held on Monday (today) at 19:30 GMT.

The most anticipated individual award which would see the newest best player in the world emerge would be held today at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Paris Saint Germain player, Lionel Messi had won the Ballon d’Or award six times while his rival who currently plays as a forward for English Premier League side, Manchester United – Cristiano Ronaldo has won it five times.

However, the 2021 award may likely slide away from the duo as Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski, is favoured by odds to win the prestigious individual award this time.

While the countdown to the award has already begun, Messi and Lewandowski are the two major players in contention.

Lewandowski has scored 38 goals in 30 league games in 2021 and has scored a goal every 66 minutes on average.

Messi on the other hand has scored 24 goals in 28 league games this year and led Argentina to the Copa America in the summer.

Get New DJ Mixes

Other notable contenders include Chelsea’s pair of Jorginho and N’Golo Kante, Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema and Mohammed Salah of Liverpool.

See Full List Of 2021 Men Ballon D’Or Nominees Below:

  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  • Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)