Connect with us


Carabao Cup: West Ham Sinks Man City As 8 Quarter-Finalists Are Confirmed




Confirmed Carabao Cup Semi-final Fixtures (Full Draws)

Eight finalists for this year’s Carabao Cup competition in England have been confirmed after Wednesday matches.

Pep Guardiola’s side, Manchester City was on Wednesday night eliminated from the 2021 Carabao Cup competition by West Ham.

The English Premier League club that has won the annual knockout football competition for the last four years, was sent home yesterday through a penalty shoot-out, Naija News reports.

The 8 teams that qualified for the quarter-final stage of this year’s Carabao Cup competition are: Arsenal, Chelsea, Sunderland, West Ham, Leicester City, Tottenham Hotspur, Liverpool and Brentford.

Liverpool’s Takumi Minamino and Divock Origi both scored for the Reds to knock out Preston North from the competition in a 2-0 win. Naija News reports that Arsenal had booked their place on Tuesday night, following a 2-0 win over Leeds United at the Emirates.

Chelsea who are currently leading in the English Premier League chat, however, qualified with a penalty shoot-out after playing 1-1 on full time against Southampton on Tuesday night.

Tottenham Hot Spurs who have been off-balance this season defeated Burnley 1-0 while Brentford defeated Stoke 2-1 to also make it to the quarter-finals.

Leicester City on the other hand knocked out Brighton in a 5-3 penalties shootout.

Story continues below advertisement

Get New DJ Mixes

Naija News understands that the draws for the quarter-final will be conducted on Saturday.