Connect with us

Nigeria News

Senate Constitutes Conference Committee On Electoral Act Amendment Bill [Full List]


Extend Deadline On Old Naira Notes To June 30, Senate Tells CBN

The Senate on Wednesday formed a Conference Committee to harmonize positions on the Electoral Act Amendments Bill.

Naija News reports that this was announced by Senate President Ahmad Lawan during plenary.

He said that the conference Committee will work with that of the House of Representatives in order to be on the same page on Electronic transmission of results by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Members of the Committee include: Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (APC-Kebbi North), who will be the leader of the team.

Other members are; Senators Kabiru Gaya (APC- Kano South) to represent North West; Danjuma Goje (APC-Gombe Central) for North East; Uche Ekwunife (PDP-Anambra Central) for South East; Sani Mohammed Musa (APC-Niger East) for North Central; Ajibola Basiru (APC-Osun Central) for South West and Matthew Urhoghide (PDP- Edo South) for South South.

Recall that during the voting for electronic transmission of voting at the upper legislative chambers, Senator Urhohgide voted YES for Electronic transmission of election result.

While Senator Ekwunife was absent, the other five members of the committee voted against the electronic transmission of election results.

The lawmakers had considered the Report of the Electoral Bill, 2021 which is a Bill for an Act to repeal the Electoral Act No.6, 2010 and enact the Electoral Act 2021, to regulate the conduct of Federal, State and Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory elections

Provisions of clause 52(3) of the Electoral Act ( Amendment ) Bill 2021 sharply divided the Senators across party lines during consideration of the entire report.

The Senators then considered the report that has 158 clauses, just as the Senate conceded the powers of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC that will now transmit results of election rather than the latter.

close button