Connect with us


NNPC: Kyari, Okadigbo, Others Get FG Board Appointment (Full List)



'We're Not Broke' - NNPC Speaks On Its Financial Perfromance

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of a board of directors for the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

This follows the president’s approval for the incorporation of the NNPC.

It will be recalled as earlier reported by Naija News that presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina in a statement on Sunday, 19th September, disclosed that Buhari in his capacity as the Minister of Petroleum Resources, approved the incorporation of NNPC and the appointment of board members in accordance with the provisions of Section 53(1) of the Petroleum Industry Act 2021.

The full list of the newly-appointed board members are:

Senator Ifeanyi Ararume – Board Chairman

Mr. Mele Kyari – Chief Executive Officer

Umar I Ajiya – Chief Financial Officer

Dr Tajudeen Umar (North East)

Mrs Lami O. Ahmed (North Central)

Mallam Mohammed Lawal (North West)

Senator Margaret Chuba Okadigbo (South East)

Barrister Constance Harry Marshal (South South)

Chief Pius Akinyelure (South West).

All the appointments take effect from the date of the company’s incorporation.

Meanwhile, the Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) has asked the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, and the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan to deny President Muhammadu Buhari’s request for a new loan.

The group has demanded that the loan request of $4bn, €710m should only be considered after President Buhari gives details of how the loans he has been incurring since May 29, 2015, is being spent.

SERAP made the demand known in an open letter dated September 18, signed by its deputy director, Kolawole Oluwadare.

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.