Buhari Swears In Three INEC National Commissioners [Photos] | Naija News
Connect with us



Buhari Swears In Three INEC National Commissioners [Photos]



President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in three National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Recall that the National Assembly had on July 13 confirmed the appointment of five INEC national commissioners, following the consideration of the report of its Committee on INEC.

The nominees, who were confirmed were, Professor Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina); Prof. Kunle Ajayi ( Ekiti); Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa), Dr Baba Bila (North East), Prof. Sani Adam (North Central), and Prof. Abdullahi Zuru (North- West).

Meanwhile, the upper legislative chambers rejected the nomination of the Personal Assistant on Social Media to Buhari, Lauretta Onochie as a Commissioner of INEC.

Before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting on Wednesday, President Buhari swore in Dr Bila, Professor Adam, and Professor Zuru.

The swearing-in which was held at the conference room of the First Lady’s office at the State House had Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha in attendance.

Also present were the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed; the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; as well as the Minister for Water Resources, Suleiman Adamu.

Others include Ministers of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola and Interior, Rauf Aregbeshola.

The Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Folashade Yemi-Esan and other Ministers attended virtually from their various offices in Abuja.

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.