Connect with us


Osun APC Crisis: Aregbesola’s Loyalists Docked For Assault




The crisis rocking the Osun chapter of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) seems not to be ending anytime soon as seven loyalists of former State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola, were arraigned over alleged assault and conspiracy.

Naija News reports that the seven APC members were arraigned on Monday by the State Police Command before a Magistrates Court sitting in Osogbo.

It was learned that the politicians were accused of assaulting Muideen Ajetunmobi and Usman Lekan at the APC Secretariat on August 14, 2021.

Some of the loyalists of the Minister of Interior arraigned include former party Chairman, Lowo Adebiyi, Caretaker Secretary of the party, Rasaq Salinsile, and former Commissioner for Works and Transportation, Engr Kazeem Salami.

Others are former Commissioner for Youth, Sports and Special Needs, Com. Biyi Odunlade, former Special Adviser on Taxation, Barr. Gbenga Akano, a member of the APC in Ilesa, Alaba Popoola and one Azeez Adekunle.

The seven APC members all pleaded not guilty to the two-count preferred against them before Magistrate Olusegun Ayilara.

However, their lawyers, Abdulfatai Abdulsalam and Muftau Adediran applied for their bail on self recognisance.

The magistrate granted bail to Salinsile, Adebiyi, Salami, Odunlade and Akano, on self recognisance in a sum of N5 million each.

Ayilara also admitted Alaba and Adekunle to bail in a sum of N5 million with one surety each. The surety must either be a civil servant or house owner residing within the jurisdiction of the magistrate.

The magistrate, therefore, adjourned the case till September 24 for mention.

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.