Connect with us



Anambra 2021: APC Sets Up Primaries Appeal Committee



APC Governors Pass Vote Of Confidence On Buni, Others

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has set up a Primary Election Appeal Committee ahead of the November 6 governorship election in Anambra State.

National Secretary APC Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), Senator John James Akpanudoedehe, made this known in a statement made available to Naija News on Monday.

He noted that the caretaker chairman of the party and governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni, has approved appointment of a five-member appeal committee.

Akpanudoedehe disclosed that Governor Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State has been appointed as the Chairman of the committee, while Dr. Ijeoma Arodiogbu will serve as Secretary.

He added that other committee members are Senator Julius Ucha, Hajia Maryam Mamu Salifu, and  Alhaji Bukar Ali Dalori.

The party scribe added that the committee will be inaugurated on Wednesday at the Party’s National Secretariat, Abuja.

Akpanudoedehe said that the committee is expected to hear all appeals arising from the conduct of the Primary Election in line with the provisions of the party’s constitution and guidelines.

Recall that 11 of the 14 governorship aspirants of the party had on Saturday said the APC primary in Anambra did not hold.

The aspirants also faulted the emergence of Senator Andy Uba as the party’s flag bearer, claiming that the primary election was fraudulent.

They said anybody who claimed that there was primary is fraudulent and did not wish APC well in the November 6 election.

The aspirants, however, appealed to the party’s leadership to come up with a fresh date for the primary to ensure that the party beat the deadline set by the Electoral Act.

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.