Connect with us



Oyo: Makinde Swears In 32 Newly Elected LG Chairmen



'Incident Shocking'- Makinde Reacts To Igangan Attack

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has sworn in the 32 newly-elected chairmen of Local Government Councils in the state.

The governor inaugurated the council bosses on Monday during the swearing-in ceremony for the local government chairmen which held at the House of Chiefs, Secretariat, Ibadan.

In a statement issued by his spokesman, Taiwo Adisa, the governor asked the newly-elected chairmen to replicate the people-oriented policies and good governance being implemented at the state level at the grassroots.

The governor congratulated all the newly-elected chairmen and admonished them to make the people at the grassroots feel their presence in terms of development and good governance.

Makinde added that the chairmen must bear in mind that they would be held accountable at the end of their tenure.

“To the newly elected and sworn-in Local Government Chairmen, let me state that you have the opportunity to deliver good governance to the people of Oyo State,” the statement reads.

“We cannot over emphasize the importance of governance at the grassroots. The people of Oyo State must feel your presence by way of development and good governance. Just as they are holding me accountable, they will also hold you accountable. I will, therefore, advise that you replicate the good governance initiatives at the state level at the grassroots level.”

Makinde said that he is confident that the election in the remaining local government, Ido Local Government, where the election was rescheduled because of the missing Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) logo on the ballot, will be won by the PDP

He maintained that the election held on Saturday was free and fair and that it was in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, adding that the people of the state have elected their representatives.

The governor added, “You are the real winners in this process, as you can rightly say that you have elected your representatives. The process was free and fair and in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“As you may know, the Constitution only allows for the election of officials into the 33 local government areas of the state. Also, the Constitution provides that all registered political parties who field candidates can stand to be elected. And so, having allowed all parties to field candidates, the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has conducted these elections and have declared all 32 candidates here winners in their respective local government areas.

“On this note, I now pronounce the 32 Local Government Chairmen inaugurated to the glory of God and for the benefit of the good people of Oyo State.”

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.