Connect with us



President Buhari Appoints Governing Councils For UNILAG, UI, Others



Buhari Approves 159 New Radio, TV Stations

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of some federal universities after dissolving the existing councils in affected tertiary institutions.

Naija News reports that the affected universities are the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife in Osun State, University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) in Rivers State, and Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta State.

The President’s approval of the dissolution and reconstitution of the governing councils of the universities was contained in a statement on Thursday in Abuja by the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Education, Sonny Echono.

The statement noted that the governing councils of the five universities would be inaugurated in Abuja by the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu on April 19.

Echono in his statement revealed that President Buhari appointed a former National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Odigie Oyegun as the chairman of the University of Ibadan governing council, while Dr Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Abubakar Maikafi, and Emeka Nwagbo are members.

“For UNIPORT, the governing council members are Sen. Andrew Uchendu as Chairman while Mr Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D. T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

“For UNILAG, we have Dr Lanre Tejuosho as Chairman, with Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi and Mr Mustafa Salihu as members.

“Also, OAU has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Mr Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and Mr Nelson Alapa, Mr Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members,” the statement added.

The Vice-Chancellors of the affected universities have been advised according to the statement released to attend the inauguration ceremony of the governing councils on April 19.

Meanwhile, the Muhammadu Buhari government has presented provisional licences to the 20 new private universities recently approved by Federal Executive Council.

Naija News reports that the licences were presented to the universities on Thursday in Abuja.

Recall that the Federal Executive Council in February 2021, approved the establishment of 20 new private universities.

The provisional licenses would allow the universities to run for three years while the ministry monitors and evaluates their growth.

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.