Connect with us



Nigerians Need NDLEA Clearance Before Travelling To These 8 Countries [Full List]




The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) on Thursday stated that the visa clearance requirement policy is only applicable for eight countries.

NDLEA’s director of media and advocacy, Femi Babafemi, made this known in a statement to newsmen.

The anti-drug abuse agency was reacting to reports that it introduced a levy as visa clearance requirement for Nigerians travelling outside the country.

The anti-drug law enforcement agency wishes to state as follows: that the policy was not newly created to impose levies on Nigerians travelling abroad, but has been in existence for over 24 years,” Babafemi said.

“The policy does not apply to all Nigerians seeking to travel overseas but only those travelling to eight countries, usually referred to as source countries.

“The policy is at the behest of the ‘source countries’, and not that of the NDLEA or Nigeria. It’s designed as part of global efforts to fight the menace of drug trafficking.

“The requirements for the visa clearance being mischievously circulated on social media are just a part of a three-page document, which provides other detailed information on the policy.

“Nigerians can rest assured that NDLEA remains committed to its core goal of ridding Nigeria of illicit drugs and will not deviate from its constitutionally assigned duties.”

The agency listed the countries as follows:

  • Thailand
  • Malaysia
  • Indonesia
  • India
  • Brazil
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Russia.

George Oshogwe Ogbolu is a Digital Media Strategist | Content Writer | Journalist | New Media Influencer | Proofreader and a Deputy Editor at Naija News.