Connect with us



Offa vs Erinle: Kwara Govt Imposes Curfew As Communal Clash Breaks Out




The Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has imposed a 6pm to 8am curfew on Offa and Erinle towns until further notice.

The development was made known in a statement on Thursday evening by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Rafiu Ajakaye.

The statement noted that the curfew is to curb break down in law and order after the renewed clashes between some people in the two communities on Thursday.

Ajakaye added in the statement that the military and mobile police operatives have been drafted to the communities to restore peace and calm.

The full statement reads: “The curfew takes immediate effect from 6p.m. today Thursday March 4, 2021. Security agencies have been deployed to enforce the curfew. While security forces on ground are to maintain the peace, military reinforcements from Sobi Barracks and the Mobile Police force from Ilorin have been deployed immediately.

All residents are hereby directed to withdraw from the streets of Offa and Erinle and all contested areas immediately.

Residents are to stay indoors until the curfew is reviewed.” 

“The Governor urges residents of both communities and travellers crisscrossing the areas to comply with this directive to save lives and property.

“He appeals to leaders on both sides to restrain and caution their people against provocative action, and to maintain peace.”

“The security forces are urged to be very firm in dealing with the situation and in enforcing the curfew.”

Meanwhile, former Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II has resumed duties as the Vice Chairman of the Kaduna Investment Promotion Agency (KADIPA).

He attended his first meeting virtually on Thursday during the formal inauguration of the KADIPA board by the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai.

Source: Naija News

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *