Connect with us

Nigeria News

BREAKING: Irabor Resumes As Chief Of Defence Staff, Shuns N/Assembly Approval




BREAKING: Irabor Resumes As Chief Of Defence Staff, Shuns N/Assembly Approval

Major General Leo Irabor has taken over Command as the new Chief of Defence Staff, shunning the confirmation of his appointment by the National Assembly.

Irabor, who was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, succeeded General Gabriel Olonisakin, who served for five years and six months as the 16 Chief of Defence Staff.

In a short handing over ceremony, the former CDS thanked the President and Nigerians for the privilege to serve the country.

Olonisakin also congratulates Maj Gen Irabor and wishes him a successful tenure.

Naija News recalls President Buhari on Tuesday, 26th January 2021 appointed new service chiefs for the nation after the previous ones were relieved of their duties.

The President appointed Maj Gen Leo Irabor as the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), Maj Gen I Attahiru as Chief of Army Staff (COAS), Rear Admiral A Z Gambo as Chief of Naval Staff (CNS), and AVM I O Amao as Chief of Air Staff (CAS).

Meanwhile, President Buhari has written to the Nigerian Senate to confirm the appointment of the newly appointed Service Chiefs.

This was made known in a statement on Friday by Babajide Omoworare, Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matters.

He revealed that Buhari asked the senate to confirm the appointment of the security nominees in a letter dated January 27.

Omoworare said, “President Muhammadu Buhari has communicated the appointment of the service chiefs to the National Assembly and has sought for the confirmation of the said appointment by the Senate through his letter to the Senate President dated January 27, 2021. This was done in furtherance of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act Cap. A.20 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria.

“Contrary to fears expressed in some quarters that President Muhammadu Buhari has bypassed the National Assembly in the process of appointment of the service chiefs and that he has no intention of seeking consideration and confirmation of their appointment, Mr President upon nomination for appointment sought confirmation of the Senate for the appointment of Major General Lucky Irabor, Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao as Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of Army Staff, Chief of Naval Staff and Chief of Air Staff respectively, vide his aforementioned letter.”

He added, “It will be recalled that the National Assembly will only resume plenary sessions on February 9, 2021, when hopefully Mr President’s communication for consideration and confirmation of the nomination for appointment of the Service Chiefs would be undertaken.

Get New DJ Mixes

“Before this administration, confirmation of service chiefs were not sought and obtained from the National Assembly in consonance with the provisions of Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act Cap. A.20 LFN. We are aware that in Keyamo Vs. President & Ors, the Federal High Court set aside the Armed Forces Modification Order 2008 (purportedly made under Section 315 [2) of the Constitution) on July 1, 2013, and ruled that the confirmation of the National Assembly must be sought for the appointment of the Service Chiefs. We are in  compliance with the spirit and letters of both the statute and case law.”