Connect with us

Nigeria News

Profile Of New Service Chiefs Appointed By Buhari



Profile Of New Service Chiefs Appointed By Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has sacked the service chiefs in the country and has immediately appointed their replacements.

In a statement on Tuesday by the Special Adviser On Media and Publicity to the President, Femi Adesina, the new service chiefs will now pilot the security affairs of the country.

The outgoing service chiefs are General Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin (Chief of Defence Staff); Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai (Chief of Army Staff); Vice Admiral Ibok Ibas (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

The incoming service chiefs are Maj Gen Leo Irabor (Chief of Defence Staff); Maj Gen Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff); Rear Adm AZ Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff); AVM IO Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

It read, “President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

“Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their ‘overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,’ wishing them well in their future endeavours.

“The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

Naija News reports that the latest development comes after several demands by Nigerians for the replacement of the service chiefs in order to effectively tackle the security challenges facing the country.

Below is the profile of the new service chiefs:

Maj Gen Leo Irabor (Chief of Defence Staff)

Profile Of New Service Chiefs Appointed By Buhari

Major-General Leo Irabor was born on October 5, 1965, and hails from Ika South LGA of Delta State.

He is a trained Engineer from Obafemi Awolowo University and holds two Masters degrees from the University of Ghana, Accra, and Bangladesh University of Professionals, Dhaka.

A one-time Theatre Commander of the Operation Lafiya Dole, Major-General Irabor later took over as the Commander, Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC).

He replaces General Abayomi Olonisakin who served as Chief of Defence Staff since July 2015.

Maj Gen Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff)

Major General Ibrahim Attahiru has been appointed as the new Nigeria’s Chief of Army Staff who has replaced Buratai.

Attahiru was born on August 10, 1966, and hails from Kaduna North Local Government Area of Kaduna State.

Before the appointment of Maj Gen Attahiru Ibrahim as the new Chief of Army Staff, he was in charge of the 82 Division, Nigerian Army.

Maj Gen Ibrahim Attahiru was appointed the theatre commander of the Lafiya Dole operation, which is to lead the offensive against Boko Haram in the North-East in May 2017.

He was later replaced with another general, Nicholas Rogers, who led a special military and police force to tackle ethnic clashes in the volatile central region.

Rear Adm AZ Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff)

Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo was born on April 22, 1966, and hails from Nasarawa LGA in Kano State.

He was enlisted into the Nigerian Navy on September 24, 1984, as a member of Regular Course 36.

With specialisation in intelligence, Gambo is an underwater warfare specialist. He has attended several sub-technical courses and officers courses, including junior division 48/99 and senior course 26 both at armed forces command staff college in Jaji.

He served as Director of Search and Rescue at the Defence headquarters and chief of naval training command.

Until his recent appointment, he was the Director of Procurement at the Defence Space Administration.

Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, replaces Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas who served as Chief of Naval Staff since July 2015.

AVM IO Amao (Chief of Air Staff)

Air Vice-Marshal Isiaka Oladayo Amao was born on 14 Sep 1965 at Enugu. He hails from Oshogbo in Osun State.

He was enlisted into the Nigerian Air Force on January 19, 1984.

He enlisted into the Nigerian Air Force on 19 Jan 1984 as a member of 35 NDA Regular Course and was commissioned as Pilot Officer on 20 Dec 86.

He started his Primary Flying Training at 301 Flying Training School (FTS) Kaduna from 1987 – 1989, did the Basic Flying Training at 303 FTS Kano from 1990 – 92 and Tactical Fighter Training at 99 Air Combat Training Group (99 ACTG) Kainji from 1993 – 99. Thereafter, went for Instructor Pilot Course at 301 FTS Kaduna from 2004 – 2005.

After several years in service, he replaces Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar who has served as Chief of Air Staff since July 2015.

AVM Amao is happily married to Elizabeth Olubunmi Amao and they are blessed with 3 lovely boys. His hobbies include reading, dancing, traveling, playing volleyball and golf as well as fish farming.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android