Connect with us

Nigeria News

Obaseki Inaugurates Judicial Panel On Police Brutality In Edo (Full List)



Fuel Subsidy Removal: Obaseki Gives Update On Fuel Price Increase After NEC Meeting

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State on Monday inaugurated a 12-man Judicial Panel of Inquiry to probe cases of Police brutality.

This was made known in a statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie Esq.

The Edo State Government gave the Panel90 days to complete the assignment.

The Panel is chaired by Hon. Justice Ada Ehigiamusoe, while Mrs Joyce Ugbodaga is the Secretary to the Committee.

Other members of the Committee include Bishop Feb Idahosa, (Clergy); Francis Osayi, (ASUU); Comrade Osahon Obasuyi (NYC); Prest Aigbokhian (Civil Society); Mrs Uloaku Uzamere (NCWS); Comrade Pius Efofan (NANS); Pius Okpere (#EndSARS Movement); Comrade Kola Edokpayi (#EndSARS Movement); Mrs Felicia Monyei (Ministry of Justice) and a Representative of security forces.

The panel was mandated to “to receive complaints and petitions from the general public, particularly victims or relatives of victims of police brutality and extra-judicial killings, and to recommend measures, including compensation and restitution, investigation and prosecution, as the circumstances warrant.

“To advice on compensation or restitution to the victims, or- where the victim has been killed- to the family of the victim, based on a condition which shall be clearly laid out by the Committee.

“To ensure that compensation is paid within 14 days of the decision to compensate.”

The Panel will also recommend and direct the Attorney General to immediately prosecute all persons responsible for the various crimes committed; recommend measures to forestall reoccurrences in the future and make any other recommendations to government in furtherance of the mandate of this Committee.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android