Connect with us

Nigeria News

Senate Confirms Isa Kwarra As NPC Chairman



Start Recruitment Instead Of Doing Secret Replacements - Senate Tells FG Officials

Mr Isa Kwarra from Nasarawa State as been confirmed by the 9th Senate as the Chairman of the National Population Commission.

He was confirmed following a satisfactory report of the Senate Committee on National Identity and National Population Commission.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Ahmed Saidu Alkali, while speaking on the appointment noted that the nominees met the requirement to serve as Chairman and Commissioners.

Alkali further stated that no petition was filed against their nomination, hence, the committee recommended their confirmation.

Other nominees that were confirmed as Commissioners are:

Ibrahim Mohammed – Bauchi
Ajayi Ayodeji Sunday – Ekiti
Hon. Joseph Kwali Shazin – FCT
Garba A.G. Zakar K/Hausa – Jigawa
Engr. Bala Almu Manye – Katsina
Gidado Rasak Folorunsho – Kwara
Mrs Bimbola Salu-Hundeyin – Lagos
Ali Silas Agara – Nasarawa
Mohammed Abdullahi Dattijo – Sokoto
Mai Aliyu Muhammed – Yobe
Muhammad Muttaka Rimi – Zamfara

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, while speaking on the confirmation called on them to be focused.

He noted that the last population census was in 2006, and Nigerians were expecting much from them.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android