Connect with us


Ondo 2020: Top Political Parties Present Consensus Candidate


In a bid to wrestle power from the major political parties, ten parties have agreed to work for a consensus candidate during the Ondo governorship election.

Naija News reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had fixed the Ondo State election for October 10.

The political parties on Thursday revelaed that they will be working together under the Conference of INEC Registered Political Parties (CIRPP).

This was made known in a statement jointly issued by Mr Olugbemi Ogunbameru (SDP), its Chairman, Comrade Israel Ayeni (AAC), Secretary and some other members of the coalition.

Th e statementsaid: “The CIRPP Will, however, make its position known as to who to support and work for within 72 hours.

“The CIRPP, hereby, informs the general public that the committee has not adopted any candidate for the slated election as insinuated by the public and envisaged by a group of persons who aren’t members of registered political parties.

“There are earlier insinuations that the CIRPP is working and supporting a particular party, but there is nothing of such.”

“It’s our priority to ensure that the people of Ondo State will be guided to vote for the right person.

“It’s our joy that a compassionate person wins in the forthcoming election.”

The statement was co-issued by Prince Niran Toyin (APGA), Mr Olaoluwa Adesanya (APP), Chief Tokunbo Adetoro (ADC) and Dr Ajibola Falaiye (Accord).

Get New DJ Mixes

Others in the coalition are Mr Olagookun Peter (NNPP), Mr Felix Funso Oloro (APM), Mrs Funmilayo Ataunoko (NRM) and Mr Amos Agunloye (LP).

close button