Connect with us


Nigeria News

#EdoDecides: First Set Of Results Trickle In From Edo Governorship Election



Edo 2020: I Won’t Challenge Obaseki's Victory - Ize-Iyamu

Results from different polling units Saturday’s governorship election in Edo State have started trickling in as the voting process has ended in some polling units.

Barring any special cases, the Independent National Electoral Commission had fixed 2pm for the actual voting to end. However, voters who are already on the queue before the time will be allowed to vote.

Our correspondent gathered vote counting has already started in some polling units.

As previously reported by Naija News, fourteen candidates and political parties are participating in Saturday’s election as confirmed by INEC in a statement made available to newsmen by Rose Oriaran-Anthony, Secretary, INEC.

Many opinions however believe the race is majorly between the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and the incumbent governor of the State, Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Below are some unofficial results from some polling units were voting has ended already. Official results will be declared by INEC.

Election Results:

PU019, Uson, Ugbeka Ward, Orhionmwon LGA

APC: 44

PDP: 77

SDP: 1

YPP: 1

Invalid Votes: 7

Uhunmwode LGA Ward 07, Isi North, PU – 004, Ohe Ozua Primary School

APC – 65

PDP – 96

LP – 1

NRM – 2

And 1 void.

Vote counting has also begun at PU:004 UDO/UDONERIA

RA: 05 UDO

Follow our live election result update page for more details.