Connect with us



INEC Declares Winner Of Nasarawa Bye-Election




The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Ismail Danbaba as the winner of Saturday’s bye-election for Nasarawa Central state constituency.

He defeated Bage Nuhu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to emerge winner of the election.

Iiyasu Umar, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer declared Danbaba winner after the polls were concluded and votes counted.

“By the power conferred on me as the Returning Officer of this election, I hereby declared the APC candidate the winner, having scored the highest number of votes cast,’’ Umar declared.

APC’s Danbaba scored 7,475 votes while Nuhu of the PDP polled 4,608 votes.

A total of 12,217 votes were cast; 12,083 valid votes were recorded with 134 rejected.

The death of Suleiman Adamu, who represented the constituency at House of Assembly on April 10 while on admission at the Federal Medical Centre (FMC) in Keffi necessitated the bye-election.