Connect with us

Nigeria News

Ondo 2020: INEC Releases Details And Qualifications Of 17 Governorship Candidates And Their Deputies (Full List)



Anambra Election: PDP, APGA In Early Battle As Supplementary Elections Results Start Coming In

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the early hours of Friday, released a list of candidates, their running mates as well as parties for the scheduled Ondo State governorship election.

According to the list seen by Naija News correspondent, 17 candidates, from 17 political parties are on the provisional list released by INEC.

Furthermore, it was observed that no woman is featured on the list as a governorship candidate for the October 10, 2020 gubernatorial election in the state.

Incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, is seeking a second term in office and will be flying the flag of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on which platform he came into power four years ago.

His main challenger is expected to be 59-year-old Eyitayo Jegede, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who was the runner-up in the 2016 election in the state.

INEC also listed Rotimi Adeleye Akindejoye, of the Accord party; Joshua Oluwafemi Adewole of the Action Alliance (AA), Adeleye Adekunle Peter of the African Action Congress (AAC), Adelegan Adedapo Oluwaseyi of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Martin Kunle Olateru-Olagbegi of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Olowoloba Dele of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and Aminu Akeem Olanrewaju of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

Other candidates and their parties for the scheduled election are: Adesanya Olaoluwa of the Action Peoples Party (APP), Okunade Taiwo of the Labour Party (LP), Ojajuni Joseph Eniola of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Funmilayo Jenyo Ataunoko of the National Rescue Movement (NRM), and Babatunde Francis Alli of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP).

Others are Fasua Peter Oyeleye of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Ojon Dotun of the Young Progressive Party (YPP), and Benjamin Jairus Olarotimi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Meanwhile, Naija News observed that Agboola Ajayi, the incumbent Ondo State deputy governor was not on the list released by INEC.

However, parties have until August 18 to withdraw or replace a candidate on the ballot before INEC releases a final list for the public.

Ajayi defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) where he contested and lost the party’s primary election.

It is however rumoured that Ajayi may join the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) in order to realize his governorship ambition.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android