Exclusion of Obasanjo's Name Malicious - Fani-Kayode Fires Buhari
Connect with us



Exclusion of Obasanjo’s Name Malicious – Fani-Kayode Fires Buhari



'Delusional Government' - Fani-Kayode Reacts To Twitter Ban In Nigeria

Femi Fani-Kayode has condemned the non-inclusion of former President Olusegun Obasanjo from the names of prominent Nigerians who go railway stations named after them.

Naija News recalls that President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday approved the renaming of several train stations after many “prominent Nigerians”.

According to a statement by the Ministry of Transportation, the “deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.”

Buhari named train stations after Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Yemi Osinbajo, Wole Soyinka, Babatunde Fashola, Goodluck Jonathan, amongst others.

But reacting in a post on his Twitter page, Fani-Kayode said the exclusion of Obasanjo was malicious and spiteful.

According to him, honour must be given to whom it is due.

Fani-Kayode said: “I believe that the exclusion of OBJ from the list of those honored by having railway stations etc. named after them was petty, malicious, spiteful & sacrilegious.

“We must not allow politics to becloud our thinking and judgement and we must give honour to whom it is due.

“Equally sad is the fact that Umaru Yar’adua, Ameyo Adadevoh, Shehu Shagari, Tafawa Balewa, TB Joshua, David Oyedepo, Baba Adebanjo, John Nwodo, Emeka Ojukwu, Ngozie Okonjo-Iweala, Matthew Hassan Kukah, Baba Kessington Adebutu & others were also left out.

“Give honour to whom it is due!”

Source: Naija News

George Oshogwe Ogbolu is a Digital Media Strategist | Content Writer | Journalist | New Media Influencer | Proofreader and a Deputy Editor at Naija News.