Connect with us


Breaking: Nigeria Adds Sweden, Austria To List Of Restricted Countries




Two other European countries have been added to the list of countries Nigeria has placed travel restrictions on in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak.

The countries are Austria and Sweden.

The Minister of Health, Osagie Ehanire, made the disclosure in a briefing on Friday afternoon in Abuja.

It will be recalled the government had earlier restricted 13 high-risk countries from entering Nigeria.

The countries are China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland.

According to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) and Chairman, Presidential Task Force on Coronavirus (COVID-19), Boss Mustapha, these are all countries with over 1,000 cases.

Effective from Saturday, 21st March, 2020, persons arriving from these countries will be subjected to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days.

The restrictions are for four weeks and subject to review.

There are currently 12 confirmed cases of the COVID-19 disease in Nigeria.

Content provider, creative writer, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things. You can reach out to me via [email protected]