Connect with us


INEC Declares APC Winner of Kaduna Rerun Election




The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the winner for the re-run election for Kagarko constituency of Kaduna State held on Saturday.

The Local government collation and returning officer, Dr Haruna Aminu, declared the candidate of All Progressive Congress (APC), Hon. Nuhu Goroh Shadalafiya, as the winner.

Aminu said Shadalafiya won the election, having satisfied the law and scored the highest number of votes and ” is returned elected.”

Naija News reports that Goroh Shadalafiya polled 24,658 votes after the collated results were merged with INEC’s saved results to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Hon. Morondia Tanko who polled 20,206 votes

The Court of Appeal had ordered for a rerun in 22 units of three wards in Kagarko constituency following a suit by Nuhu Shadalafiya who had challenged the victory of Morondia Tanko in the 9th March election, Naija News recalls.

The Appellate court had on November 19, 2019, backed the ruling of the Election Tribunal and dismissed the appeal of Hon. Morondia Tanko, who challenged the lower court’s judgement.

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.