Connect with us


Buhari Reacts As Trump ‘Plan’ To Impose Travel Ban On Nigeria




President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday refused to react to speculations that United States President, Donald Trump, plans to place a visa restriction on Nigeria.

Naija News reports that Trump is set to sign an executive order expanding visa restrictions to seven countries.

The countries include Eritrea, Belarus, Sudan, Tanzania, Krygyzstan, Nigeria and Myanmar.

It was gathered that the US president isn’t placing a full ban on these countries, as the ban is on certain types of visas such as the business or visitors visa popularly referred to as B1/B2 visa type.

Trump would announce the travel restriction next Monday, which would be the third-year anniversary of the first travel ban.

However, in a statement on Wednesday, the Senior Special Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, said: “Yes we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media.

“We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications and its consequences before we react.”

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.