Connect with us

Nigeria News

AGF Malami Reveals Number Of Governors Under Investigation




The Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN), has disclosed that 22 former governors are under corruption investigation.

The AGF made this known while speaking to newsmen on Thursday in Abuja.

The minister stated that three former governors have been convicted for corruption under President Muhammadu Buhari.

The former governors are Joshua Dariye (Plateau), Jolly Nyame (Taraba) and Orji Kalu (Abia).

According to Malami, the Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) had convicted 1,636 persons for corruption-related offences from 2015 to September 2019.

“It might interest you to note that former state Governors and even serving senators are not spared,” Malami said.

“Currently, high profile personalities including judicial officers and former governors indicted for corruption have been prosecuted and many sentenced to jail.

“We have three former governors convicted and serving various jail terms for corruption-related crimes while in office.

“Equally, 22 ex-governors are either under probe or on trial.”

Naija News had disclosed a list of six former governors who have been successfully tried for corruption and jailed.

See List below:

Orji Uzor Kalu

Orji Uzor Kalu, a former Abia State Governor, and Nigerian Senate Chief Whip, is the latest in the group of former governors jailed for corruption. Naija News reports that Senator Kalu was sentenced to a maximum of 12 years imprisonment by Federal High Court sitting in Lagos, Nigeria’s commercial city on Thursday, for N7.65bn fraud, among other multiple sentences ranging from 3 years to 5 years on 27 counts.

Jolly Nyame

A former governor of Taraba State, northern Nigeria, Jolly Nyame was sentenced to 14 years imprisonment without an option of fine after being found guilty of 27 out of 41 counts of alleged diversion of public funds.

James Bala Ngilari

A former governor of Adamawa State, northern Nigeria, Bala Ngilari, was sentenced to 5 years in Jail in 2017 with no option in fine for awarding a contract without due process to the tune of N167 million.

Joshua Dariye

A former governor of Plateau state, northern Nigeria, Joshua Dariye was sentenced to 14 years imprisonment over criminal breach of trust and two years for misappropriation of public funds. Dariye was a serving senator in 2018. He was charged with embezzling N1.162 billion ecological funds belonging to his state. His jail term was later shortened to 10 years.

Lucky Igbinedon

A former governor of Edo State, south-south Nigeria, Lucky Igbinedion, was sentenced to six months imprisonment in 2008 for money laundering worth N25 billion. The former governor, however, got a plea bargain which made him pay a fine of N3.5 million

James Ibori

A former governor of Delta State, southeast Nigeria, was sentenced to 13 years in prison for laundering $250 million by a London court. The former governor has since completed his time in jail and returned to Nigeria to a ‘Heroic welcome’ in his state.