Connect with us


Complete List Of Governors Supreme Court Ruled On Their Elections Today




Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Nigeria on Wednesday delivered final ruling of the election of eight governors in the 2019 Governorship election.

Naija News reports that the Apex court upheld the elections of all eight governors.

The governors are: Dapo Abiodun ( APC, Ogun), Udom Emmanuel (PDP, Akwa Ibom), Aminu Bello Masari (APC, Katsina), Abdullahi Sule (APC, Nasarawa), David Umahi (PDP, Ebonyi), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC, Lagos), Seyi Makinde (PDP, Oyo) and Nasir El-Rufai (APC, Kaduna)

In the case of Nasarawa State, the Justice Mary Peter Odili-led panel dismissed the appeal of David Ombugadu and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) against the victory of the APC in the March 9, 2019 elections.

According to Justice Peter-Odili, the appeal filed by the candidate of the PDP lacks merit.

On Kaduna, the Supreme Court in a unanimous judgment delivered by Justice Centus Nweze, dismissed the appeal filed by Isa Ashiru, candidate of the PDP, challenging the election for lacking in merit.

Justice Nweze, thereafter, upheld the victory of Nasir El-Rufai in the March 9 governorship election in Kaduna State.

On Oyo State, the Supreme Court also said the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was right in declaring Governor Seyi Makinde as the winner of the 2019 governorship election in the state.

The Court in a unanimous judgment said Makinde was duly elected governor of the Pacesetter state and also found merit in the appeal filed by Makinde that the majority judgment of the Appeal Court was a miscarriage of justice.

This online news platform understands that the apex court, thereafter, affirmed the majority judgment of the tribunal which upheld the election of Makinde as the duly elected governor of Oyo State.

close button