Connect with us


Edo Assembly Declares 12 Seats Vacant, See Why



The Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly, Francis Okiye, has declared seats of 12 members-elect vacant for refusing to present their certificates of return to the Clerk for inaguration.

The Speaker also declared the seats of Uyi Ekhosuehi and Henry Okaka, representing Oredo East and Owan East respectively, vacant for allegedly absconding from plenary after the inauguration of the Seventh Assembly on June 17.

The Speaker noted that the lawmakers-elect can no longer approach the Assembly for inauguration as the mandatory 180 sitting days as enshrined in the constitution has elapsed.

Francis Okiye said: “12 out of the 24 members-elect, who completed their screening and documentation process, were inaugurated on June 17, out of whom two have refused to discharge their legislative duties.

“They have refused to represent their constituents in the Assembly, invariably denying them effective representation.

“At this point, I am declaring the seats of the 12 members-elect vacant, in accordance with Section 109, subsection 1(F) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).”

He urged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct by-elections within 90 days in the affected constituencies.

Naija News understands that the affected members-elect are Vincent Uwadiae, Ovia North-East II; Ugiagbe Dumez, Ovia North-East I; Washington Osifo, Uhunmwode; Victor Edoror, Esan Central; Kingsley Ugabi, Etsako East and Michael Ohio-Ezomo, Owan West.

Others are Sunday Aghedo, Ovia South-West; Chris Okaeben, Oredo West; Crosby Eribo, Egor; Aliyu Oshiomhole, Etsako West II; Oshomah Ahmed, Etsako Central and Ganiyu Audu, Etsako West I.

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.