Connect with us


Taraba Assembly Confirms 24 Commissioner Nominees As Crisis End



As the protracted political crisis between the former speaker of Taraba state House of Assembly Abel Diah and Governor Darius Dickson Isiyaku ended on Monday, the new leadership of the house had confirmed 24 commissioner nominees.

The state governor had earlier shortlisted and forwarded the names of commissioner nominees for the lawmakers’ approval, but due to the hostility and sudden break of cordial relationship between the two arms, the list was swept under the carpet.

Surprisingly , the lawmakers on Tuesday swung into action by   screening the nominees.

 The speaker, Joseph Allbasu Kunin who was elected on Monday presided the sitting with other members of the house in attendance.
It was however observed that both the former Speaker, Peter Diah and his deputy, Charles Maijankai were conspicuously absent.

In the list, the governor replaced one nominee Abubakar Sule Ndigmay from Sardauna LGA and added two nominees including Imam Ibrahim for Jalingo and Edward Baraya from Karim Lamido.

Is a Multimedia Journalist, Practicing Developmental Journalism for social change and had a stint in print and electronic media.