Connect with us


INEC Declares APC’s David Lyon Winner Of Bayelsa Election



Bayelsa Governor-Elect David Lyon ‘Murders’ English (Video)

The National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared David Lyon of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Nigeria’s ruling party, as the winner of the Bayelsa Governorship Election.

Naija News reports that Lyon was declared the winner of the Bayelsa election by INEC Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese, on Monday morning, November 18.

This online news platform understands that Professor Orunmuwese returned the APC candidate as the winner of the keenly contested Bayelsa election after scoring the highest number of votes in the poll.

Lyon scored a total of 352,552 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party, Duoye Diri, who polled 143,172 votes.

Naija News reports that the victory of David Lyon automatically makes Bayelsa state an APC controlled state, thereby making PDP which was the ruling party in the state, the main opposition party now in south-south state.