Connect with us

Nigeria News

Jonathan Speaks On Working With APC Ahead Bayelsa Guber


N4.6bn Fraud: EFCC Speaks On Inviting Jonathan For Questioning

The immediate past President of Nigeria, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has denied working for the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the November 16 governorship election in Bayelsa State.

Naija News understands that Jonathan’s reaction comes in the midst of speculations in the media in recent times claiming that the former President might be working against the interest of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bayelsa State.

The speculations arose from a perceived frosty relationship between Jonathan and the Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, over alleged political differences.

The speculations have also gained momentum when the former President recently boycotted the launch of the governorship campaign in Bayelsa where the party’s standard-bearer, Senator Douye Diri, was presented to stakeholders.

However, Jonathan who was reported to have met with some governors elected on the platform of the PDP at his Abuja home last Friday dismissed the speculation.

A source close revealed that Jonathan was said to have wondered how he would be working for the APC when he remained a frontline stakeholder and one of the fathers of the PDP.

“We made it clear to him that his name and influence are at stake and that he should do everything necessary by supporting Diri to become victorious in the November 16 elections.

“In the end, he said that as an elder and party leader that he has no personal grievances against Diri or Governor Dickson. That he is having problems was the brainchild of some politicians who want to cash in on his humility and political lifestyle”, the source said.

The source, thereafter, said Jonathan was reported to have assured the visitors of his commitment to the PDP project in Bayelsa and that he would get actively involved in the campaign to ensure the party’s victory at the November 16 election.

The governors said to have visited the former President were; Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Abia; Seyi Makinde, Oyo; Dave Umahi, Ebonyi; Darius Ishaku, Taraba; Aminu Tambuwal, Sokoto; and Bala Mohammed, Bauchi.