Connect with us


Just In: Senate Inaugurates Standing Committees (Full List)




Lawan Inaugurates Senate Committees

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan on Wednesday, inaugurated the entire committees of the 9th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Naija News reports the inauguration was done during the lawmakers’ plenary at the Senate chambers in Abuja.

Lawan told the Senators on Wednesday that; “The National Assembly has one objective-to make laws for the good governance of our dear country. Let us challenge ourselves to implement our all important legislative agenda. This task is one of national service, towards progress and development.”

On this note, distinguished colleagues, it is my privilege and honour to inaugurate the entire committees of the 9th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

Recall shortly after the inauguration of the 9th Senate back in July, Senator Lawan had announced the committees, the chairmen as well as the vices.

Below is the list announced.

1. Agriculture and Rural Development

Chairman – Sen. Abdullahi Adamu

Vice Chairman – Sen. Bima Mohd Enagi

2. Airforce
Chairman – Sen. Bala Ibn Na’Allah
Vice Chairman – Sen. Ama Micheal Nnachi

3. Anti-corruption and Financial Crimes
Chairman – Sen. Suleiman Abdu Kwari
Vice Chairman – Sen. Aliyu Wamako

4. Appropriations
Chairman- Sen. Ibrahim Barau Jibrin
Vice Chairman – Sen. Stella Adaeze Oduah

5. Army
Chairman – Sen. Mohd Ali Ndume
Vice Chairman – Sen. Abba Moro

6. Avation Chairman – Sen. Dino Melaye
Vice Chairman – Sen. Bala Na’Allah

7. Banking, Insurance and other Financial InstitutionsChairman – Sen. Uba Sani
Vice chairman – Sen. Orji Uzor Kalu

8. Capital Markets
Chairman – Sen. Ibikunle Amosun
Vice chairman – Sen. Binos Dauda Yero

9. Communications
Chairman Sen. Oluremi Tinubu
Vice Chairman – Sen. Ibrahim Bomoi

10. Cooperation and Integration In Africa/NEPAD
Chairman – Sen. Chimaroke Nnamani
Vice Chairman – Sen. Yusu Abubakar Yusuf

11. Culture and Tourism
Chairman – Sen. Rochas Okorocha
Vice chairman – Sen. Ignatius Longjan

12. Customs, Excise and Tariff
Chairman – Sen. Francis Alimekhena
Vice Chair – Sen. Francis Fadahunsi

13. Defence
Chairman – Sen. Aliyu Wamako
Vice Chair – Sen. Istifanus Gyang

14. Diaspora and NGOs
Chair – Sen. Ajibola Basiru
Vice Chair – Sen. Yahaya Ibrahim Oloriegbe

15. Downstream Petroleum
Chair – Sen. Sabo Mohd Nakudu
Vice Chair – Sen. Phillip Tenimu Aduda

16. Drugs and Narcotics
Chair – Sen. Ezekiel Ayuba Dimka
Vice Sen. Chimaroke Nnamani

17. Ecology and Climate Change
Chair – Sen. hassan Mohd Gusau
Vice Chair – Sen. Olubumi Adetumbi

18. Education (Basic and Secondary)
Chair – Sen. Ibrahim Geidam
Vice – Sen. Etim Eyekenyi

19. Employment, Labour and ProductivitySen.
Chair – Benjamin Nwajumogu
Vice – Sen. Kabir Barkiya

Chair – Sen. Ike Ekweremadu
Vice chair – Sen.Ibrahim Hadeija

21. Establishment and Public Service
Chair – Sen. Ibrahim Shekarau
Vice – Sen. Barinada Mpigi

22. Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions
Chair – Sen. Patrick Akinyelure
Vice – Sen. Ahmad Baba Kaita

23. FCT
Chair – Sen. Abubakar Kyari
Vice Sen. Tolu Odebiyi

24. Federal Character and Inter-governmental AffairsChair – Sen. Danjuma La’ah
Vice – Sen. Lawal Yahaya Gumo

Chair – Sen. Henry Bassey
Vice – Sen. Kabi Barkiya

26. Finance
Chair – Sen. Adeola Olamilekan
Vice – Sen. Isah Jibrin

27. Foreign Affairs
Chair – Sen. Adamu Bulkachuwa
Vice – Sen. Ignatius Longjan

28. Gas Resources
Chair – Sen. James Manager
Vice – Sen. Diego Wangagha

29. Health (Secondary and Tertiary
Chair – Sen. Ibrahim Oloriegbe
Vice – Sen. Betty Apiafi

30. ICT and Cyber Crimes
Chair – Sen. Yakubu Oseni
Vice – Sen. Abdufatai Buhari

31. Housing
Chair – Sen. Sam Egwu
Vice – Sen. Lola Isa Ashiru

32. INEC
Chair – Sen. Kabir gaya
Vice – Sen. Sahabi Yau

33. Industries
Chair – Sen. Sikiru OsinowoSen.
Vice – Saidu Alkali

34. Information and National Orientation
Chair – Sen. Danladi Sankara
Vice – Sen. Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed

35. Interior
Chair – Sen. Kasim Shetimma
Vice – Sen. Diri Doye

36. Inter-parliamentary Afairs
Chair – Sen. Akwashiki Godiya
Vice – Sen. Abba Moro

37. Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters
Chair – Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele
Vice – Sen. Michael Okey Jev

38. Land Transport
Chair – Sen. Abdulfatai Buhari
Vice – Sen. Nicholas Tofowomo

39. Legislative Compliance
Chair – Sen. Oriolowo Adremi
Vice – Sen. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi

40. Local Content
Chair – Sen. Teslim Folarin
Vice – Sen. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi

41. Local and Foreing Debt
Chair – Sen. Clifford Ojiah
Vice – Sen. Bima Mohd Enagi

42. Marine Transport
Chair Sen. Mohd Danjuma Goje
Vice – Sen. Sikiu Osinowo

43. Media and Public Affairs
Chair – Sen. Adedayo Adeyeye
Vice – Sen. Akwashiki Godiya

44. National Identity and National Pop.
Chair – Sen. Said Alkali
Vice – Sen. Suleiman Abdu Kwart

45. National Planning
Chair – Sen. Olubumi Adetumbi
Vice – Sen. Lawrence Ewrhrudjakpo

46. National Security and Intelligence
Chair – Sen. Abdullahi Gobir
Vice – Sen. Godfrey Utazi

47. Navy
Chair – Sen. George Sekibo
Vice – Sen. Cliffford Ishaku Abbo

48. Niger Delta
Chair – Sen. Peter nwaoboshi
Vice – Sen. Bulus Amos

49. Petroleum Resources (Upstream)
Chair – Sen. Albert Bassey Akpan
Vice – Sen. Ifeanyi Ubah

50. Police Affairs
Chair – Sen. Dauda Haliru Jika
Vice – Sen. Abubakar Tambuwal

51. Poverty Alleviation and SIP
Chair – Sen. Laval Yahaya Gumau
Vice – Sen. Micheal Nnachi

52. Power
Chair – Sen. Gabriel Suswam
Vice – Sen. Nyinaya Abaribe

53. Primary Healthcare and Communicable Diseases Chair – Sen. Chukwuma Utazi
Vice – Sen. Suleiman Umar

54. Privatisation
Chair – Sen. Theodore Orji
Vice – Sen. Oriolowo Adeyemi

55. Public Accounts
Chair – Sen. Mathew Orogide
Vice – Sen. Ibrahim Hasan Hadeija

56. Public Procurement
Chair – Sen. Shaibu Isa Lau
Vice – Sen. Lola Isa Ashiru

57. Rule and Buiness
Chair – Sen. Umar Sadiq Suleiman
Vice – Sen. Yahaya Abdullahi

58. Science and Technology
Chair – Sen. Lilian Ekunife
Vice – Sen. Ajayi Borrofice

59. Senate Service
Chair – Sani Musa
Vice – Sen. Lawal Hassan Anka

60. Solid Minerals, Mines, Steel Devt and Metallurgy

Chair – Sen. Tanko Almakura
Vice – Sen. Oriolowo Adeyemi

61. Sports and Social Development
Chair – Sen. Josheph Ogba

62. States and Local Govt
Chair – Sen. Lekan Mustapha
Vice – Sen. Francis Onyebuchi

63. Special Duties
Chair – Sen. Yusus Abubakar Yusuf
Vice – Sen. Biobarakuma Wanghagha

64. SDGs
Chair – Sen. Aisha Dahiru Ahmed
Vice – Sen. Lekan Mustapha

65. Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND
Chair – Sen. Ahmad Baba kaita
Vice – Sen. Sandy Onor

66. Trade and investment
Chair – Sen. Rose Okoji Oko
Vice – Sen. Francis Fadahunsi

Source: Naija News

Content provider, creative writer, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things. You can reach out to me via [email protected]