Connect with us


Tribunal Sacks PDP National Assembly Member, Declares Victory For APC



List Of States Won By APC, PDP, NNPP And Labour Party After Supreme Court Judgement On Friday

Tribunal Sacks PDP Reps Member

The National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Abakaliki, Ebonyi State on Monday, ruled in favour of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as regards the Ikwo\Ezza South Federal Constituency.

The tribunal in its ruling, sacked the member representing Ikwo\Ezza South Federal Constituency, Lazarus Ogbee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Ogbee had been declared winner of the federal constituency election conducted on 23rd February 2019 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). However, Chinedu Ogar of the APC had gone to court to challenge the results of the election claiming that his votes were erroneously reduced by INEC to favour Ogbee.

After concluding its hearing, the Tribunal headed by Justice Sika Henry Aprioku declared Ogar as the winner of the election.

The tribunal agreed with Ogar and restored 10,000 votes earlier canceled by INEC in some wards Ikwo and in Onueke Urban in Ezza South.

It also ordered INEC to withdraw the certificate of return issued to Ogbee of the PDP and issue Ogar of the APC a fresh certificate of return as the duly elected candidate for the constituency.

The final results of the election as declared by the tribunal should be 36,238 votes for the APC as against PDP’s 33,263 votes.