Connect with us


Just In: APC Declares Winner Of Bayelsa Gov’ship Primary




David Lyon on Wednesday emerged the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primaries in Bayelsa State.

Naija News reports that the APC in Bayelsa has insisted on the choice of direct primaries to select the candidate to fly its flag in the Nov. 16 governorship election in Bayelsa.

The confirmation came after the victory and approval at the Bayelsa State High Court to conduct its rescheduled August 31 governorship primaries in the state using the direct primary method.

The primary which was held today saw Lyon poll 42,138 votes to win its closet rival, Mrs Diseye Nsirim, who scored 1,533 votes.

Others are Heineken Lokpobiri, who scored 571 votes, while Preye Aganaba, scored 354 votes and Mr Amgbare scored 633 votes while Prof. Maureen Etebu scored 564 votes.

While announcing the result in Yenagoa, the Chief Coalition Officer, Sen. Dangana Emmanuel, said the mode was direct primary as agreed by Bayelsa stakeholders, and confirmed by the national working committee.

Naija News understands that the Returning Officer for the Bayelsa APC Primaries was Governor Mai-Mala Buni of Yobe.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android