Connect with us



FIFA Reveals Final Three-Man Shortlist For Men’s Player Of The Year


FIFA Award

FIFA Announces Final Shortlist For Best Awards

The World football governing body, FIFA, on Monday, announced their final three-man shortlist for the Men’s Player of the Year award.

The announcement was made via the FIFA official website.

The eventual winner of the award will be picked by a panel of experts chosen by FIFA, made up of former goalkeepers and strikers.

The list released by FIFA includes Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool Netherlands) and Lionel Messi, (Barcelona and Argentina).

One of the trio will emerge FIFA Men’s Player of the Year (2019).

Current holder, Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric, missed out on the final shortlist.

Over the past decade, Messi and Ronaldo have shared the prize five times among each other.

Naija News reports Van Dijk already beat both Messi and Ronaldo to this year’s award of the UEFA men’s player of the year award.

Meanwhile, FIFA also on Monday announced the final three-man shortlist for this year’s Puskas Award.

Lionel Messi’s stunning chip against Real Betis, Juan Quintero’s amazing long-range free-kick and Daniel Zsori’s last-minute winner for Debrecen against Frencvaros were all nominated for the prestigious best goal award.

FIFA will reveal the winner at The Best Awards on September 23 in Milan.