Connect with us


Live Updates: Senate Resumes Ministerial Screening (Day 2)




Senate Resumes Ministerial Screening

The Nigerian Senate has resumed the screening of nominees sent in by President Muhammadu Buhari for appointment as ministers during his second term in office.

Naija News recalls the Senators on Wednesday, July 24th, began the screening of the individuals on the ministerial list forwarded to it by President Buhari.

The President sent a list of 43 nominations to the lawmakers for screening and confirmation as next level ministers for his second term in office.

It should be noted that the lawmakers yesterday, screened 10 out of the 43 names sent in by the President.

Naija News will be on the ground to bring you live updates from the Senate chamber. Please refresh this page to get the latest information.

11:00 AM: The Senators have resumed and are led into the chambers by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

First on the list of nominees to be screened for today is Senator Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo State). After addressing the Senators, he is allowed to take a bow and go as a former Senator.

11:25 AM: Next to appear before the lawmakers is Mustapha Shehuri (Borno State). He is currently addressing the legislators.

Having served as a lawmaker in the House of Reps (2011-2015), he is also allowed the privilege of taking a bow and leaving.

11: 40 AM: Standing before the Senate is a nominee from Yobe State, Abubakar Aliyu, the immediate past deputy governor of the state.

After addressing the lawmakers and few comments from the senators, he is allowed to take a bow and go. He enjoys the privilege only accorded to former lawmakers.

12:05 PM: Next to be screened by the Senate is Bashir Saleh from Kano State, a retired military officer.

Following his address to the Senators, and some comments from the Senators, he is allowed to take a bow and leave without further questioning.

12:34 PM: Ministerial nominee Timipre Sylva from Bayelsa State is next before the lawmakers. Sylva is a former governor of the Niger Delta state.

He is also accorded the privilege to take a bow and go without questioning.

12:50 PM: The Senators are currently screening the ministerial nominee from Kogi State, Alhaja Rahmatu Tijani.

She is the immediate past APC National woman Leader.

Relying on the phrase that the 9th assembly is very gender-sensitive, Dr Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu has been asked to take a bow and leave.

1:05 PM: The Senate takes a one hour break, to reconvene at 2pm.

Naija News reports that so far, 6 nominees have been screened at the resumed screening of ministerial nominees on Thursday.

2:25 PM: Several minutes after the expected 2pm resumption, the lawmakers have made a return to the chambers and are set to resume screening of ministerial nominees.

Upon resumption, a new set of nominees are set to be screened by the lawmakers.

2:40 PM: Senate President Ahmad Lawan tells the Sergeant at arms to bring in the next nominee and Adeniyi Adebayo from Ekiti state was invited into the chamber.

He was asked to take a bow and leave after reading his biography to the lawmakers.

3:10 PM: Next up for screening by the legislators is Zubairu Dada (Niger State). After addressing the lawmakers, Dada is currently answering questions asked by Senator Stellah Oduah on how he can reposition and re-energize the National Orientation Agency should he find himself in such a position.

After answering the questions, he is allowed to take a bow and go.

3:37 PM: Entering the Senate chamber for screening as a ministerial nominee is Senator Chris Ngige from Anambra state, the immediate past minister of Labour.

Upon addressing the lawmakers, a motion was moved and seconded for Ngige to take a bow and leave. He did and exited from the chambers.

3:50 PM: Abdullahi Hassan from Nasarawa State is the next ministerial nominee being screened by the Senators. He is the immediate past secretary to the state government, Nasarawa.

Naija News reports the Senators also screened Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna State), Sa’adiya Umar Farouk (Zamfara State), Mohammed Musa Bello (Adamawa state) and Sunday Dare (Oyo State) on Thursday.

It should be noted that Sunday Dare, the ministerial nominee from Oyo state was grilled by the Senators for about one hour before he was released. Dare is a former Senior Editor, The News Group.

In all, the Senators screened 14 ministerial nominees on Thursday. So far, in two days, 24 ministerial nominees have been screened by the lawamkers.

Source: Naija News

Content provider, creative writer, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things. You can reach out to me via [email protected]