Connect with us


Revealed! Top Politicians Set To Make Buhari’s Next Level Cabinet





Indications coming from the Presidential Villa shows that President Muhammadu Buhari is set to recall about 12 to 15 of his former ministers to his “Next Level” cabinet.

It was gathered that the ex-ministers’ names are on the list which was reportedly submitted to Senate President Ahmed Lawan on Wednesday.

Naija News recalls that Ahmed Lawan had stated that the National Assembly will receive Buhari’s ministerial nominees this week.

Those speculated to be on the list last night are ex-Ministers of Justice and AGF Abubakar Malami (SAN); Adamu Adamu( Education); Hadi Sirika (Aviation); Zainab Ahmed (Finance); Aisha Abubakar (Women Affairs); Lai Mohammed (Information); Babatunde Fashola (Works, Power and Housing); Rotimi Amaechi (Transportation); Mohammed Musa Bello (FCT); Suleiman Adamu Kazaure (Water Resources); Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu (Science & Technology); Solomon Dalung (Sports & Youths Development) and others.

Although Dr Ibe Kachikwu, former governors Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Niyi Adebayo (Ekiti) and Akinwumi Ambode (Lagos) were also being speculated last night to have made the list.

A source told The Nation that some ex-ministers, such as Adebayo Shittu (Communications) and Okechukwu Enelamah (Trade and Industry) lost the battle to return to the cabinet.

“I know that the two women ex-ministers are returning to the cabinet. We have a few others who have really added value that the President will be retaining.

“It is not a total overhaul, which you are anticipating. What the President promised was to leave sustainable legacies in his second term,” the source said.

Meanwhile, a principal officer of the National Assembly said: “Lawan dropped a hint that he will receive the list on Wednesday”.

Another source said: “I think the list is already with the Senate President and some officers but they said it will not be made public until Thursday.”

It remains to be seen if President Buhari will expand his cabinet from 36 members to 42 members.

Section 147(1-3), provides that the President should have no fewer than 36 ministers at one per state.

The section reads: “There shall be such offices of Ministers of the Government of the Federation as may be established by the President.

“Any appointment to the office of Minister of the Government of the Federation shall, if the nomination of any person to such office is confirmed by the Senate, be made by the President.

“Any appointment under Subsection (2) of this section by the President shall be in conformity with the provisions of Section 14(3) of this Constitution:

Get New DJ Mixes

“Provided that in giving effect to the Provisions aforesaid the President shall appoint at least one Minister from each state, who shall be an indigene of such state.”