Connect with us



Gbajabiamila Names Doguwa As House Leader, Announce Other APC Principal Officers




APC Announces Principal Officers For House Of Reps

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Femi Gbajabiamila has announced Ado Doguwa (APC-Kano) as Majority Leader of the lower legislative chamber.

Gbajabiamila made the announcement during House plenary on Thursday in Abuja.

Peter Akpatason (APC-Edo) was named Deputy Leader of the House.

He also announced Mohammed Monguno (APC-Borno) as the Chief Whip while Nkiruka Onyejeocha (APC-Abia) was revealed as the Deputy Chief Whip.

He said the announcement was in line with the rules of the House.

Gbajabiamila cited Order 7, Rule 4 which says the leader of the House shall be a member nominated from among the majority party and Rules 5, 6, and 7 which give provision to the appointments of other principal officers.

The announcement by the Speaker was greeted with loud applause and cheers from the All Progressives Congress (APC) members in the House.